So happy-sad

Am I the only one who gets like this? Right now, maybe it’s the moon phase or hormones or the light at the end of the tunnel (WHAAAAA? Nine days of drop off left before SCHOOL IS OUT FOR SUMMER!) but I am in this weird funk where I love to hate everything or hate loving it? I am not sure which it is. What I can tell you is that I watched this Chris Cornell cover of “Nothing Compares 2 U” over and over feeling sad and buoyed at the same time (how can a song that beautifully written seem even more incredibly in Mr. Cornell’s delivery? – because Life is amazing…). You can watch it here,
Nothing Compares2U but truth be told I just set my phone down and listen without looking.

Maybe it’s because I am a child of the 90’s and my heart is rooted in the Sad FM stylings of alternative music and the general distemperment of the time, but there is something oddly soothing about my current state of brooding. Then again, I am a mom and I realize that I am being looked at to encourage a positive way of tackling life. So I leave you with this even more satisfying clip of “the Back pack Kid” dancing onstage with Katy Perry this weekend – which I have watched almost as many times as the first video – but only makes me happy…SwishSwish

Leave a Reply

