Phoney-Bologna

 

fullsizerender
Be whoever you want to be…

This is pretty much the best advice I have for today. I don’t think this qualifies as writing a blog post per se, because frankly, I didn’t come up with the saying. I didn’t even write it. Actually, I wrote it first with a paint marker, messed that up royally, wiped it off with goof-off and then used these sparkly stickers. However, I think it’s inspirational none the less.

 

There is a back lash right now for anything that is not “authentic” and I can understand that. But it repeals my decade’s long held notion of “fake it till you make it” being an actual way of life. Sometimes, who you are isn’t who you want to be (usually around bedtime when there are still a million things to do and just a handful of minutes to do them in with exactly one nerve left to get on). In that space I don’t want to be me. I want to be Beyoncé (or Superman, or Mother Teresa) and putting myself in that mindset helps me get over myself pretty quickly. If pretending to be them for a bit makes me inauthentic, I am okay with that.

Slay.

One thought on “Phoney-Bologna

Leave a Reply

