Do all things well, with a happy heart and just a few essential oils

Part 2 of 5

Tuesday morning came and I was super pumped to intercept my Premium Starter Kit which Includes: Dewdrop™ Diffuser, the Premium Essential Oils Collection; Lavender 5-ml, Peppermint Vitality™ 5-ml, Lemon Vitality™ 5-ml, Copaiba Vitality™ 5-ml, Frankincense 5-ml, Thieves® Vitality™ 5-ml, Purification® 5-ml, R.C.™ 5-ml, DiGize™ Vitality™ 5-ml, PanAway® 5-ml, Stress Away™ 5-ml, AromaGlide™ Roller Fitment, 10 Sample Packets, 10 Love It? Share It! Sample Business Cards, 10 Love It? Share It! Sample Oil Bottles, 2 NingXia Red® 2-oz. samples, Product Guide and Product Price List, Essential Oil Magazine, Essential Edge, Member Resources as well as printouts and three products that my friend had crafted using the essential oils. I had already attended a class she put on a few months ago, so I was familiar with a few of the products and had purchased and used Lavender and Thieves essential oils frequently in that time, though I had used both products only topically. I had wrongly assumed that using the oils topically was the same thing as using them aromatically; waging that smelling them on your skin was the equivalent of smelling them in general. Not so, I quickly found. The third method of use is internally, which also yields a very specific result.

In those print outs that had been sent with my packet, there was a sheet on Diffuser recipes (combination oils to put with water in the Dew Drop), Roller recipes (to be applied topically), a vita-flex hand and foot chart (to connect the oils to its intended) a print out on the Essential Rewards program and the 10 day Starter kit challenge. As I would have the kit for five days I chose to focus on doubling up my efforts on the 10-day challenge in addition to using the three products made for me (Mermaid Hair spray, Thieves Cleaner spray and Happy Mama bath salt). The eleven oils in the kit have write ups that include the following for Copaiba’s: “Known for its gentle, woodsy aroma, Copaiba essential oil is a product of steam distilling the gum resin tapped from the Brazilian Copaifera reticulata tree. With high levels of beta-caryophyllene and a uniquely sweet aromatic profile, Copaiba oil helps create a relaxing atmosphere when diffused or applied topically”. Or Frankincense’s: “It’s no surprise that Frankincense (Boswellia carterii) has been sought after since ancient times. The complex aroma of this oil can elevate many aspects of your life. Diffuse Young Living Frankincense oil to refine your sense of purpose or add it to your beauty routine for a luxurious experience. Frankincense essential oil has an earthy, uplifting aroma that’s perfect for grounding and spiritual connectedness. Create a safe and comforting environment when you diffuse or inhale this empowering oil—a perfect opportunity to collect your thoughts. When you seek purpose or engage in prayer or meditation, use this oil to enhance your experience. In addition to elevated spiritual experiences, the benefits of Frankincense essential oil include maintaining radiant skin”.
I could get lost in language like that. And not in a bad way. I want to be surrounded by gentle, woodsy aromas! I need grounding and spiritual connectedness! I was nearly sold before I even used the products. I could be that girl!

img_9870
10 days in just 5…

 

My whirlwind challenge included the following on my first day:
Day one: Unwind
This is what my bedside table looked like before I plugged the Dewdrop in:

img_9853
Ugh. I need reading glasses now. Also, that coffee is two hours old. And yes, that is the book I am reading right now.

 
How could I unwind aromatically with clutter and a stray sock on my table? I could not. I would need to alter my altar. Which I did, seen below.

 

img_9854
I used the sock in the previous picture to dust the table, then I picked the hibiscus and added it to a chilled, stemless wineglass with filtered water, because it seemed legit.

Already I was an earthier-person. I breathed deeper and easier and I was only four minutes into the process.

 

Day eight: Cleaning with oils. I like using barely diluted bleach to clean with. I know that sounds harsh and is probably eroding my esophageal lining by fumes alone, but it “feels” clean to me. Swapping out this known germ killer was tricky for me. I sprayed all the counters, then the door handles, the light switch plates, the toilet handles, the garbage cans, and the sinks, enjoying the earthy- organic grocery store scent. If this scent description fails to connect, think the smell of damp earth, smoldering firewood and the feeling you get when you’ve spent half of your take-home pay on the fourteen items you need for a two day juice cleanse – only half kidding! This cleaner made everything it touched shine and inspired me to get a ladder out and finally eradicate the tiny sauce splatter that took up residence on the kitchen ceiling almost a month ago. Again, I breathed easier, as I no longer entered the kitchen under the magnified glare of that spot that taunted me.

 

img_9866
(kitchen) island glow flow!

 

 

Day two: Drink to your health. The directions are very specific to drink out of an actual glass which inspired me to upgrade to Nana’s Waterford – because, if not now, when? Usually when I drink lemon water I am slightly grossed out by the waxy taste of the rind (which I probably wouldn’t have to contend with if I opted for organic, non-sprayed lemons…). I am also turned off a little by the milky-sight of the lemon pulp in the glass. By using the oil alone I had neither the waxy tastes, nor the unsightly pulp, but the same bright, crisp taste of lemon. I tilted my head back and drank it in, imagining myself in a Tuscan village, surrounded by lemon trees.

 

img_9868
If every glass of water was served this way, I could totally get in my 8-10 a day.

 

Happy Mama Bath Salt: Created by combining ½ C. Epsom salt, 1 T. Baking Soda, 3 drops of Stress Away, 3 drops of Orange and 1 drop of Joy – this smelled so incredible, I used half of the container provided. I had allotted twenty minutes to soak in this mixture and I can attest that at the six minute mark my eyelids were heavy and I was completely relaxed (which is a remarkable task considering I folded my 5’7 frame into a standard bathtub lined with all the product two little girls could fit on the lip and shelving of the space).
Day nine: The ultimate 3-minute facial. My skin echoes my humor and all around demeanor – slightly sensitive and prone to being dry. After cleaning almost every surface of our house and taking my soak, I treated myself to this mask, taking care to apply it in slow, circles all over my face. I have had facials that set me back almost $100 that neither felt this nice, nor produced results that were even close to the rosy, dewy glow that this mask gave me. (Although I had intended to use this mask as recommended, I ended up making a double batch and applying it all over. As of writing this today, Friday morning, I have done this for three days now and my skin is soft and glowing).

Mermaid Hair Spray: a combination of lavender, cedar wood and rosemary essential oils along with a teaspoon of olive oil and water, this concoction is made to be mixed and sprayed onto your hair to promote growth, shine and that “beachy” texture favored by so many. I have pin-straight sort of fine hair, so when I hear “oil” I get a little nervous. But this product did give me piece-y it-girl hair for my grown out lob.

 

img_9856
Lacking in length but feeling mermaid-y none the less.

 

The verdict of day one: The lavender scent was pleasant and calming to have in our bedroom and I felt centered and buoyed just smelling it. The diffuser had a blue light (with the option to turn it off) which I imagined would impede sleep if it stayed on all night, but I liked seeing in the daytime. Its sound is a slight gurgle which I imagined would be similar to spending the night in the Falling Water House, my husband however, kept asking if the dog was licking himself… sigh. I was pleasantly surprised by how long lasting the benefits of my soak and facial stayed with me and I can say in all honesty that I felt deeply taken care of by this combination of products. However, a storm was brewing in the nasal passages and chest cavities of the Take-a-years and I would soon have to see if Purification and RC were up to the challenge…

5 thoughts on “Do all things well, with a happy heart and just a few essential oils

Leave a Reply

