“Kevlar” Coffee day one

Bullet-proof coffee is something that has been on my radar for a while and first piqued my attention when I was adhering to a Whole-30 diet. I had never really been a committed coffee drinker until we had a second child – when I quickly found that coffee was my superpower. I loved it most with creamer of the most ridiculous variety – triple chocolate brownie creamer? Why not! Rocky road ice cream with Reese’s peanut butter cups cream – count me in! Bacon egg and cheese omelet creamer – sure! Coffee with cream and sugar – I mean, I guess I could try it…

When I started the Whole 30 program, though, all of my delicious additions were outlawed and I started drinking coffee in its natural state. Black coffee, I soon realized did not beckon me to have a second or third cup. Black coffee got the job done though.

I started reading about bullet proof coffee and its devout followers and honestly it sounded disgusting until I realized that salted butter coconut oil coffee might have been a flavor of creamer that I would have purchased at one time. This morning I gave it a go. I did not use the Bullet-proof brand of coffee or oil, I used Maxwell house regular coffee (8 oz.), Kerry gold grass-feed salted butter (1 T.) and Publix brand coconut oil (1 T.) then I blended it in a blender for 30 seconds. The result was both strange and good – like a frothy, creamy latte made with heavy cream.

I am not sure what the future holds for my coffee drinking, but I can tell you that despite having a tension headache and a sore neck and shoulders I felt pretty great this morning. That could be because I drank the whole cup of coffee while it was still warm or possibly because I am excited to try something new. I wonder what your thoughts are on this brew…

5 thoughts on ““Kevlar” Coffee day one

Leave a Reply

