“You gotta give them hope”

Harvey Milk is credited with saying this of course, but I believe this quote can be attributed to the kind and caring everywhere. I trust it is a fundamental truth that everyone has an obligation to relay to everyone else that they come in contact with. I know that I look to my husband (not because of that relationship, but because of who he is) to tell me that everything is going to be okay because it gives me hope. The girls look to us for the same reassurance; they need to hear that we definitively “know” that everything will work out.

To the hope providers I say this; Thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I have been incredibly lucky to find mentors in both likely and unimaginable places who continually told me that I would be okay. Because they said it, I bought into it and from that grew a fearlessness that I can tap whenever I need.

There are still times when I feel unsteady, times I feel unsure and times where I almost certainly “know” that I will fail. The beauty lies in knowing that I will survive that too. Because I have hope that I will and so far, my record of overcoming is holding steady at 100 percent. If you are still here, then we are tied. Let’s keep going.

2 thoughts on ““You gotta give them hope”

  1. For the record, you are a hope giver. I believe it was a wise woman who said something along the lines of, “if our kids only knew how many times we lied to them and told them it was going to be ok”💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

