On the eve of a New Year

Today my wish for you is simple – that you live as if it is the last day of the year. Eat the doughnuts. Eat three of them you want (and not just because I did this morning). Drink the champagne and refill your glass if necessary. Work on the project you want to see completed. Take the long, hot bath and put on the lipstick or blow out your hair or wear the super sparkly earrings even if you are just headed down the street. Be the most vibrant incarnation of yourself so that you remember what it feels like to be all in. Get up and work out not because you want to or because you need to, but because you are alive and you can. Tell someone you love them and you need them and they are safe with you. When the ball drops and we flip the page onto tomorrow, do it with as little regret as humanly possible and know that I am cheering for you. Here is to you and to me and everyone we know and love having the best year ever.

One thought on “On the eve of a New Year

  1. I’ve had a feeling, for a little while, that there are some good things going to happen in this new year. I’m not sure if this feeling is just for me or for everyone, but I’d like to believe that it’s for everyone. So here’s to a new and better year for all and I wish this especially for you because you have been a beacon for me. So Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

