Six months later…

I should probably insert all the clichés about time and how fast it goes by and all that but I am too pumped for that. Because I have spent so much time thinking about writing and what I would say and how my tone would be interpreted and if anyone would read it. So much time. Then one day, I started to actually do it. Every. Single. Day.

I wrote about the embarrassing stuff and the mundane and the sad and the wonderful. I wrote when I was tired and letdown and angry and fearful and even unexplainably optimistic (though never all those things at the same time). I wrote when I had tons of other stuff I had conditioned myself to see as more important (like folding towels). I wrote after the kids went to bed and when they were right next to me putting their icy cold feet on me and jarring me into reality. Every day, even though I thought I couldn’t possibly, I wrote.
I stared at the bricks in front of me, or spun around on my seat or walked on the treadmill. I wrote when I felt excited about submissions I had sent out and I wrote when I didn’t hear back from them. But I kept writing.

I have completed entire posts and then deleted them both accidentally (agh!) and on purpose (did I ever tell you why I don’t eat egg salad? I almost did!). Crazy, wonderful things started to happen. I started learning how to write like I meant it. I learned how to carve out a space just to work on the craft. I read about writing, I asked about writing and above all I wrote.

Six months ago, I started this blog thinking that I needed an outlet to try to get to work doing the thing that I love to do. To think that I am halfway through the year I set out to accomplish feels like a victory already. I want to say thank you, sincerely, to each of you reading this and I wish you the best of luck in running down your own dreams.

5 thoughts on “Six months later…

  1. I’d love to take this opportunity to thank you for all of the posts you’ve written. I think that I may have missed a couple from your start-up but I have enjoyed each and every one that I have read. It got to the point that I looked forward to reading your daily contribution to my world. I found myself looking at the clock when I didn’t see an alert telling of your next post. I was surprised when I found my eagerly anticipated email that arrived earlier than expected. Now just because I haven’t remarked on each and every post I loved them all and left comments when I was especially moved to do so.

    I do hope that you continue with your daily episodes of life on the lower east coast so that I can continue enjoying up here on the west coast. You’ve brightened up my day and I just want to say, thank you, from the bottom of my heart. Write On!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s so wonderful to know that you are feeling the Bern and/or Burn…
    So much growth, satisfaction and that efficient factor.
    From a long time ago:
    “And the Student, becomes the Teacher”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

