Christmas Eve

Tonight is one of the busiest nights in parenting for a lot of people, as it is over at our house. I have to say that it still doesn’t feel like Christmas Eve though. I’m not sure if it’s because the weather is being unreasonable (very warm and kind of humid) or if it’s because this year was so off kilter. Today brought a lot of good cheer and a few temper tantrums and somehow this morning I met up with a friend long before the sun rose and we ran a half marathon, something I hadn’t really ever thought I could do until I went and did it. Whew. A mere three or four hours and I can get to bed.

I hope that if you are reading this and you have had a rough year you can feel the love I am sending your way – one more week and we start over. I hope that if you have a full and happy heart you can appreciate it and if everything seems like it’s falling apart you can have faith that anything is possible and it will turn around again. That may seem overly optimistic and reaching of me but I want you to know that I have had moments just like that – when it seems like nothing is going to work out or improve and I can only say that I never gave up hoping that it might. I wish you the same resilience.

Leave a Reply

