Voty-McVoterton

That is me today, I voted and I am proud of it. You should also know that I posted both a picture of the bottom half of people in the line behind me as well as a picture of my “I voted” stickered self on Instagram. And it sounds self-righteous and a bit showy – but you know why I voted? I voted BECAUSE I CAN. I voted because those who came before me were relentless in their pursuit of paving the way for me to do so. I voted because my parents told me that I mattered and because through trial and error I learned that for myself.

Things might get ugly tonight as the polls wrap up and I will be staying off Facebook until at least tomorrow morning, but I couldn’t let the moment pass without saying a huge and unwavering THANK YOU for everyone who made it possible for me to stand in that line today, to fill in those bubbles and cast my vote – using my voice in an arena where a space was made for me. It is a privilege and an honor to participate in democracy and I am not even going to pretend that it was no big deal.

Leave a Reply

