If you fail to plan, you plan to stare at a lot of empty shelves…

Hurricane season starts June 1 and it runs through November 30. This means that if you live, in, say, oh, I don’t know, an East coast peninsula, such as maybe, the state of Florida, you should have a supply sitting around from four months ago. Now, I know that prescription medication can sometimes have a shorter shelf life than that – so I will concede to you if you tell me that you aren’t prepared because you don’t have this on hand. If you have just moved or are in the process of moving – I will give you that too, because who knows where ANY of your stuff is at the moment. That is it. That is my free pass list.

I forgot to buy bread earlier this week. Although I grabbed various nut butters and canned tuna, I forgot the bread so I went to Publix, my local grocery store, which I had visited just yesterday morning…

Here was the bread aisle:

IMG_7963.JPG
Oh, what to choose…

 

 

The ice display:

img_7962
Cold shoulder at the ice display.

 

The charcoal/woodchips/lighter:

img_7965
Hopefully there is propane somewhere…

 

The water display:

img_7964
At least there are coolers for the i…oh, yeah.

 

The gas station across the street:

img_7961
Lines, lines, every-where a-lines! (Oh and no ice, or propane.)

 

What you can’t see are the patrons screeching at Publix employees because they are out of these goods. What these pictures don’t show (because I am against Public Shaming in this instance) is the woman who was lashing out at management, saying things like “Oh I bet you are just thrilled with this! You are making so much money – while we – who pay your salary – are suffering”. Did I just see your eyes roll – good, that is a sign of contempt and usually I would dissuade its use, but I feel a certain solidarity with you right now…Even if you are in the great pacific northwest you can feel my pain – right?

Three days ago, when this hurricane was churning and fussing and getting stronger (not unlike a toddler just before they fall asleep) and projected to be at least some sort of issue for our great state, those shelves were fully stocked. Weather people warned anyone who would listen that they should be putting together supplies – IF THEY HAD NOT ALREADY. Meaning that then would have been the SECOND best time to prepare.

Last night, my husband put our shutters up. He isn’t one to panic but he was unsure how long he would be kept at work and knew that we would be home by ourselves. This is my view form our dining room table:

img_7957
Enchanting, no?

 

And I am only mildly embarrassed to say I actually cried when I preventatively pared down my frangipani tree – but here are some flowers I managed to keep:

img_7959
Fall décor: tropical flowers and a pumpkin that will never rot!

 

Through the night, you could hear hammers and screw guns working under the headlights of the cars and trucks belonging to other people who had to work. Schools will have a half day today and no classes Thursday or Friday. That isn’t the tough part – if you ride out the storm with (fingers crossed) with no damage that is the easy part. When the power stays out for a week or more because trees have knocked down power – or schools are operating as shelters – that is when things get particularly sticky. That is what those supplies are meant to accommodate. You don’t want to be scavenging the grocery store that is operating on half power looking for a can of Dinty Moore Beef stew (and that is on the luxury excursion).

The takeayear family is hoping for the best but prepared no matter what (I even found one pallet of bread as it was being brought in to the store). If the blog is down for a few days, I will come back when the power is restored. I have legal pads and pencils to continue on my daily writing project come what may. Stay safe!

5 thoughts on “If you fail to plan, you plan to stare at a lot of empty shelves…

  1. Wow. I’m not in your situation, but this had me thinking about how in my church we have always been advised to keep food storage and emergency supplies on hand. Not only has this helped families in natural disasters but also in times of financial crisis such as the sudden loss of a job. So it’s a wise practice regardless of where one lives. Stay safe!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I hope that you and your family are safe during the time of this terrible storm. I am praying for everyone to remain safe. Looking forward to your return should you lose your power and I hope that you can give us an accounting of how you fared. I’ve never been through a hurricane except for one time. It was in October of 1954 and I was just a baby with no memories of it. I was, once, in a tornado and that was no picnic but I’m certain it was nowhere near the magnitude of a hurricane. Stay safe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My daughter is in the Jax Beach area. I told her this was no joke or adventure and don’t be stupid and not have an evacuation plan or supplies for at least a week. She’s 22 and thinks this will be an adventure. May God keep you ALL safe!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I hope that you are safe! And I can relate, in a very small way. Years ago, we had a huge blizzard that shut down our city for a few days. And while the snow was coming down, I was snuggled in a blanket on the sofa, admiring it. Only that evening did I venture out to our local grocery store, and was shocked to see that the shelves looked pretty much like what was in our photos. Lesson learned……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

